Center of the chest



I open myself up to love and kindness.



They say all you need is love. Look no further than the fourth chakra. Known as the Heart Chakra, or Anahata in Sanskrit, this chakra is located at the center of the chest. It helps us embrace love and all that kindles it; compassion, empathy, and kindness. How we treat others (and ourselves) is greatly influenced by the Heart Chakra. Here we find the cosmic fuel for healthy relationships as this chakra inspires forgiveness, respect, and understanding. The Heart Chakra reminds us that no one is an island and that we are all bonded through deep connection. We need love and we need one another. The Heart Chakra’s location in the chest means it holds physical influence over the thymus gland, the heart, and the lungs.

When this chakra is balanced you have unconditional love for yourself and others. You act from a place of warmth and compassion. You know how to treat people with kindness and care, understanding that everyone deserves respect. Instead of trying to change people, you accept them as they are, warts and all. The word Anahata itself means “unhurt”. When the Anahata is properly aligned you’re able to move past hurt through forgiveness and self-love. Most importantly you’re able to accept love from others, understanding that you as much as anyone else deserves kindness.

Out of Balance:

When the Heart Chakra is out of balance, it manifests as bitterness, hatred, and jealousy. You might find yourself fuming on a regular basis or a little too critical of others. Feeling emotionally wounded? Check yourself. While there’s always a mourning period for pain, an imbalanced Heart Chakra makes you hold onto hurt longer than necessary. Physically you might notice problems like chest pains, poor blood pressure or even respiratory illnesses like bronchitis.

How to Heal The Heart Chakra:

One vital way to heal the Chakra is through meaningful connection. Take time to recognize the love that’s in your life and cultivate gratitude for those who surround you. You can also open your Heart Chakra by meditating with a gentle stone like Rose Quartz. Green stones such as Malachite and Jade are also excellent for balancing this vital energy center.



Heals relationships and nurtures emotional wisdom.


Opens your heart to change and new connection.

Rose Quartz

Nurtures love of all kinds and mends heartbreak.


Helps dismantle unhealthy relationship patterns.

Essential Oils:

  • Rose: Soothing and gentle.  Encourages compassion and self-acceptance. Nurtures romance and desire.
  • Bergamot: Uplifting and balancing. Eases heartbreak and grief by encouraging joy.
  • Geranium: Calming and balancing. Opens your heart to trust and encourages self-worth.
  • Jasmine: Uplifting and warming. Encourages intimacy and builds trust in new relationships.
  • Lavender: Calming and purifying. Balances emotions and eases pain during conflict.


Hridaya: Cultivates self-compassion and feelings of trust.

Padma: Opens the heart center and encourages empathy

Yoga Poses:

Upward Dog:

Strengthens your back and opens the chest for better posture. Improves lung capacity by boosting your circulation.


Opens the chest and shoulders to relieve back tension and increase flexibility in the spine. Improves lung circulation and lowers blood pressure. Stimulates the nervous system to boost overall energy.